Transport East Management Team

Strategic Director - Andrew Summers

Andrew joined Transport East following five years as Strategy and Planning Manager at Transport for London where he led on London’s cycling and walking strategies. Prior to this, Andrew was Team Leader for Transport Policy and Growth at Hertfordshire County Council.

Contact Andrew at

Communications Lead - Esme Yuill

Before joining Transport East, Esme spent over 10 years in the communications and engagement team at Transport for London, including heading the consultation team. She led engagement on the Mayor's Transport Strategy along with major infrastructure projects. She has also spent time in consultancy and at the National Audit Office.

Contact Esme at

The Transport East partnership is supported by a Transport East Strategic Officers Group,

comprising the following representatives from across the region:


  • Alastair Southgate - Head of Future Transport Strategy, Essex County Council
  • Graeme Mateer - Head of Transport Strategy, Suffolk County Council
  • David Cumming - Strategic Transport Team Manager, Norfolk County Council
  • Mat Kiely - Transportation Services Strategic Lead, Thurrock Council
  • Karen Gearing - Principle Engineer - Strategy, Southend-on-Sea Council
  • Karen Chapman - Growth Programme Partnership Manager, Suffolk Growth Programme Board
  • Trevor Wiggett - Norfolk Strategic Planning Programme Manager, Norfolk District Planning Authorities
  • Ellen Goodwin - Infrastructure Manager, New Anglia LEP
  • Howard Davies - Capital Project Officer, South East LEP
  • Mark Lucas - Transport Consultant UK Innovation Corridor
  • Matthew Taylor - Network Planning Division, Highways England
  • James Bradley - Head of Strategic Planning, Network Rail