Our area is a driving force in the UK’s clean energy sector; leading the way in delivering sustainable and low carbon energy solutions.

Transport East will deliver a collective vision for the future of transport and infrastructure in Essex, Norfolk, Suffolk, Southend-on-Sea and Thurrock.

Transport East's size is its strength; giving the partnership greater coherency and building on a strong history of collaborative working.

The Transport East Forum is led by political representatives from Highways and Transportation Authorities and District Planning Authorities, and representatives from Local Enterprise Partnerships and the Chamber of Commerce, and Highways England and Network Rail.

The Transport East Forum Terms of Reference can be viewed here

A wider partnership panel will support a collaborative approach to the development of the Strategy.

Chair and Vice-Chair

Cllr Kevin Bentley
Cllr Martin Wilby

Cllr Kevin Bentley

Cllr Kevin Bentley is the Chair of Transport East.  He is the Leader of Essex County Council.

Cllr Martin Wilby

Cllr Martin Wilby is the Vice-Chair of Transport East.  He is Chair of Environment, Development and Transport Committee at Norfolk County Council.


Cllr Richard Smith MVO
Cabinet Member for Highways
Suffolk County Council

Cllr Lesley Wagland OBE
Cabinet Member for Economic Renewal, Infrastructure and Planning
Essex County Council

Cllr Steven Wakefield
Cabinet Member for Transport, Asset Management & Inward Investment
Southend-on-sea City Council

Cllr Mark Coxshall
Cabinet Member for Regeneration and Strategic Planning
Thurrock Council

Cllr Graham Butland
Leader of Braintree District Council
Representative of Essex District Councils

Cllr Graham Plant
Deputy Leader Great Yarmouth Borough Council
Representative of Norfolk District Councils

Cllr Norman Brooks
Cabinet Member with responsibility for Transport, East Suffolk Council
Representative of Suffolk District Councils

The following bodies sit on our Forum, but are not formal members of Transport East.

Local Enterprise Partnerships

Steve Oliver
Transport Board Chair
New Anglia Local Enterprise Partnership

Perry Glading
South East Local Enterprise Partnership

Chambers of Commerce

Christine Bhatt
Director of Policy
Essex Chamber of Commerce

Nova Fairbank
Head of Policy
Norfolk Chamber of Commerce

Andy Walker
Policy Director
Suffolk Chamber of Commerce

Delivery Partners

Matthew Taylor
Programme Manager
Highways England

James Bradley
Head of Strategic Planning
Network Rail

Observing Bodies

Bedford Borough Council

Cambridgeshire County Council and District Councils

Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Combined Authority

Central Bedfordshire Council

England's Economic Heartland

East of England Local Government Association

Hertfordshire County Council and District Councils

Hertfordshire LEP

UK Innovation Corridor

Peterborough City Council

Department for Transport